This Disappears When Logged In

Young Ornate Monitor and Temporary Setup

Discussion in 'Monitors' started by blasterresto, Dec 31, 2013.

1. blasterresto

blasterresto Member

So as mentioned in my introduction thread I am new at this, but eager to take advice and improve.
    Came across a young ornate monitor, he was in a pet store in one of those little 12x12 exo terra cages or whatever. Never seen them have anything of the sort before. I told myself noway for a month before I decided he had to have a better home than that. So here I am.
    Have had him for 2-3 weeks, he has gotten noticeably thicker...
    Diet-
    I just recently read that goldfish are not good. At this point he has been eating roughly 20-25 crickets and 4 goldfish a day. I dust apprx. 25 crickets twice a week
    I really want to feed him some different things at this point I am not tong feeding, I tried to give him some "super worms" but they crawled right out of the dish I had and tried to burrow into the wood chips so I didnt end up getting him any.
    As of now he eats everything alive, but a goldfish died in his bowl the other day and he ate him too..
    Enclosure-
    I happen to have had a 48x12x21 tank around so I cleaned it up well and am using it as a temporary enclosure for him.. smaller than I would like, but it is not meant to be long term and is much bigger than what they had him in.. I have tried to make it comfortable for him.