This Disappears When Logged In

Yippee!!!

Discussion in 'Green Iguanas' started by hennisntacanibal, Feb 15, 2010.

1. hennisntacanibal

hennisntacanibal Elite Member

I just found out I was approved to adopt two male iguanas and I am jumping out of my skin I'm so excited! Here's a little bit about them:

Casey is very sweet and with a little more love will be a great iguana.  Martin is the cranky one. He has been adopted three times and returned three times. The last time they were both adopted and the guy who had them went to jail.

I'm really looking forward to the new additions to my family/petting zoo!
    As this is my first time owning ignoramuses :), I'm going to need a lot of help caring for them as best I can. I will be buying books and reading that caresheet and asking a jillion questions. Hooray!!

2. Moshpitrockchick

Moshpitrockchick Subscribed User Premium Member

TWO males? Ugh, I'll NEVER do that again, but to each his own. It was a constant battle even though one lived in the basement and the other upstairs. They knew about each other and were constantly preoccupied. The larger male spent all of his time trying to get to the basement to dominate the smaller male and then smaller guy spent all of his time out defensive and cowering trying to hide from the scent of the other iguana.
    I hope you have at least 2 spare bedrooms on opposite ends of the house for these guys. Good luck from someone who has been there. If I were you I'd DEEPLY consider only taking one iguana until you are familiar with the time and care these guys require.

3. hennisntacanibal

According to the sanctuary, they have to go together because, for some reason, they enjoy each other's company. Maybe one is actually female? I don't know. I was pretty shocked too, when I found out she wanted them to live together.

I know I'd never put two male beardies together.

4. Gojera7

Gojera7 Elite Member