This Disappears When Logged In

Worms?

Discussion in 'Water Dragons' started by silentfire, May 3, 2013.

1. silentfire

silentfire New Member

A few minutes ago I noticed my dragon defecating in his water for the second time in a rather short period of time and when I walked over I noticed this time the stool was riddled with tiny white worms. I have no clue how he could have gotten them, I keep his cage pretty well cleaned, there is a few inches of water on the bottom of his cage that is filtered.. and this cage is a new upgrade from his previous tiny one I was keeping him in until he outgrow it which was very simple and plain , easily kept clean.. after my classes tomorrow I'm going to move him back to the old cage and clean out his new one as best I can..

The main question, dragon is infected and I am a rather poor college student, what should I do? I don't know of any vets nearby except for one that only treats dogs and cats.. is there any kind of general deworming treatment I could give him and hope it works? and also how could he have gotten worms if kept in a clean environment? just some bad foods or..?

everywhere I have looked has had the same general list of symptoms and i don't know if I shouldn't worry because my dragon shows almost none of the symptoms, just the rather large amount of worms in the recent stool

Poor to no appetite (anorexia), - nope, he loves to eat still

weight loss - also no

or no weight gain or growth seen in an animal that appears to be eating well - seems pretty well to me?

diarrhea or loose and frequent bowel movements - first time I have seen it frequent was tonight

Water dragons with parasitic infections tend to defecate all over the enclosure rather than just in the water as they normally do - entire bottom is water and it is the only place it goes, the old cage wasn't all water but it still generally went in the water bowl

extremely smelly stools - not as far as I can tell (I have a horrible sense of smell)