This Disappears When Logged In

What UVB Bulb?! Vision Cage (4' Long) Please Help.

Discussion in 'Habitat Lighting' started by Hkg, May 25, 2014.

1. Hkg

Hkg Elite Member

Okay so I took in a columbian tegu. He has a UVB bulb but I don't know how old it is or anything about it. I want to buy a new one. What bulb should I get? I'm new to all this. I've only owned a corn snake. So not much bulb needs with her. But don't worry I can care for him. I've researched reptiles for over 4 years. So what should I know? The cage is about 4' long and 2-3' wide. And the lights dip down, so they are probably 6" or so away from the ground. What kind of bulb should I get? A long one, a compact one, how many watts, etc.... I seen on lll reptile they had compact bulbs that were 13 watts I believe for under $10. I love that price!!!now keep in mind he won't spend all his time in the cage. As soon as he is more tame **** be coming out pretty much every day and when it's nice out side (I'll be with him don't worry) I'll post pictures of the cage and the current bulb. Oh and before I forget. Is there a way to tell when a UVB bulb needs to be replaced? Thank in advance

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

2. TJOHNSON722

TJOHNSON722 Elite Member

A cfl uvb bulb is junk. Get a tube uvb light.

He needs a varied diet, and higher degree temps (like upwards of 110 basking I believe) Look through the tegu forums on here and start reading. I recently responded to a question on everything tegu. Temperments, lighting, temps, feeding, etc. He will need a larger cage though. They get long. Don't let him outside without a lizard leash on. They are fast if they want to be.

A corn snake in no way prepares you for a tegu. Sorry but it's true. I had a 15 foot trouble burmese, a full grown bearded dragon who was mean among many other animals and I was still out of my element and it was hard.

Argentine and Columbians need the same care if that helps with your research.

3. TJOHNSON722