This Disappears When Logged In

What Pets Can You Leave For A Week Vacation?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Fade, Apr 5, 2018.

1. Fade

Fade Member

First off, I won't neglect an animal for my benefit, I am just wondering what pets can I leave for 7 days.

I know you can leave tarantulas alone for a week, I have 1 currently.
    I assume scorpions are the same, but don't have experience with them.
    I know most fish you can leave for a week.
    But what else is there?
    One guess is maybe snakes as the common beginner snakes eat weekly and I believe snakes don't need water as much as other animals, but I have no experience with them, so I could be wrong.
    Are there any other pets, obviously mammals or small pets are out.
    What about some other reptiles, millipedes, amphibians, madagascar hissing cockroaches, etc.

Thanks, any help is appreciated.

You may ask why, well I don't have friends and I don't trust anyone(family,etc) I know with pets.

2. Qwerty3159

Qwerty3159 Elite Member

Do you have other pets that you're wondering if they can be left alone or are you asking in general what pets could be left alone for a week in case you get them?

In general most animals will be fine. Give them a good meal before you leave and make sure they have plenty of clean water.
    For a leopard gecko, for instance, which would eat a few times a week, one slightly bigger than normal meal before and after you return would be fine. In the wild they don't eat on a set schedule.
    For something like a corn snake which may only eat once a week, you might not even have to do anything differently. If the animal is prone to defecating in its water dish perhaps add two for the week you're away in case something is soiled. It is useful to invest in a timer for any heating and lighting equipment.

3. Fade

Fade Member

I am asking in general what pets can be left alone for a week vacation. I currently only have 1 tarantula.

4. Darkbird