This Disappears When Logged In

What Are the Right Lights and Heating for RETFs?

Discussion in 'Tree Frogs' started by FunFroggies, Jan 25, 2012.

1. FunFroggies

FunFroggies Member

Hey, I am a tree frog newbie, and I have searched through a lot of these forums, but I can't find what the right heating and lighting for RETFs is. Exo-terra has a system called repti-glo. Would it be reasonable to use a 5.0 and a 2.0 (both 25w)? I saw that UTHs defy the frog's nature to go closer to the ground to get cooler, so I am avoiding that. I also saw that CHEs are good for heating, but I don't know how to install one so the frog can't get burnt. I am thinking about 3-4 red eyes, would a 18x18x24 be a good size for them? Like I said I am a newbie and have no clue what I am doing so please don't criticize.
    Thanks!

2. schlegelbagel

schlegelbagel Frog Lover Premium Member

Welcome to the board. They do not need UVB. A simple household light will do.

18 x 18 x 24 is roughly 33 gallons. Are we talking an exoterra tank? I would keep no more than two in that sized tank. I had 3 in a custom 70 gallon.

You are correct in that UTHs are useless. if you set a CHE on top of the screen, on top of the tank, they won't get burnt. As long as they can't touch it, they'll be fine. If you have a CHE to maintain temps (you can get a thermostat for $40) then you can use a standard CFL bulb (they don't make heat) for your day/night schedule.

you want a daytime temp of 85 degrees at the top of the tank.

3. FunFroggies

FunFroggies Member