This Disappears When Logged In

Water Dragon Wanted

Discussion in 'Water Dragons' started by Nate2007, Oct 26, 2010.

1. Nate2007

Nate2007 New Member

I am new to purchasing reptiles and am interested in getting a water dragon. However, I have heard that buying through pet stores and online stores aren't really the best ways to go because of parasites and whatnot. I am having a hard time finding water dragon breeders to buy from. Does anybody know of any good breeders I might be able to work with?

2. jtwilson3

jtwilson3 Elite Member

Well before you get the water dragon, what are you planning on housing him in? Like as an adult?

3. h20dragon2010

h20dragon2010 Elite Member

I would definitely do the research first if you haven't yet and make sure a wd would fit into your lifestyle. Both of my wd's and my leo gecko came from the same pet store. They both had parasites and they were treated with meds for a few days or so and that was it. I was told by another reptile only pet store that it's hard to find breeders because 90% (or some high number) in captivity were wild caught. I don't know how true that is but I never found a breeder where I live. I'm sure it would be a better bet if you could find one, but as long as you have the finances and an excellent exotic vet, I think you will be fine if you end up purchasing one from the shop. Either route you go, a vet check-up is beneficial for you and your new friend. It's great to have a fecal done and get a record started on him. Good luck with your mission. ;)

4. cslammon

cslammon Elite Member

If this is your first reptile I highly suggest you don't get a water dragon...

5. Nate2007

Nate2007 New Member

I have a 4x3x2 as of right now for the enclosure. I have done my research and everything, I just needed help finding a breeder.

6. SteveWD

SteveWD Elite Member