This Disappears When Logged In

UVB and Heat

Discussion in 'Chameleons' started by Johnny, Aug 19, 2011.

1. Johnny

Johnny Elite Member

Hey all you chameleon people,

My girlfriend wants a chameleon (most likely a veiled) and I'm thinking of getting her one, but since I'm not too experienced with herps, and chams have the reputation for being even harder to take care of, I'm being a little paranoid...

Ok, so, I've read that mercury vapor bulbs are good because they provide UVB/UVA *and* heat, but I was sort of wondering... If the chameleon wants to move to the cooler side of the enclosure, to get away from the heat, would they still benefit from the UVB? Or would the UVB only be making an impact when the cham is very close to the bulb, like when he is basking? Since the appropriate size for a veiled's enclosure is 2x2x4, I was wondering if this was too big for one mercury vapor bulb to handle.

Also, could a juvenile cham be kept in the adult sized enclosure its whole life?? Would it enjoy all the space and greater potential for more foliage/hide spots, or would it feel too exposed, thus leading to stress??

Ok, last, but not least... Do you have any recommendations for where to get a good screen cage from? Since I have ZERO experience with these I want to get the best one possible, since the design seems inherently flimsy.

Sorry for sticking three questions into one post, but I *really* wanna get this right for her, so she'll know exactly how to keep her new friend healthy.

2. Dominick

Dominick Founding Member

As far as I know, Chams need low-level UV exposure. They are not a basking-type reptile. So be sure to adjust UV accordingly.

3. Johnny

Johnny Elite Member