This Disappears When Logged In

Turtle Newbie

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by purplecandle, Oct 22, 2014.

1. purplecandle

purplecandle Active Member

Hi, my name is Cynthia. I'm a turtle newbie. I've had my turtle for a few days. My husband found him on the road, no where near any sort of water or mud. Bizarrely, he was heading towards houses and more roads. So, hubby brought him home.

I searched the internet til my eyes were bleeding and found out he was a male painted turtle (likely a Southern).

Well, he had no where to go. Didn't want to just drop him off in a river or creek. So, we decided for now to keep him.

Now, I'm a fishkeeper, so I have tons of equipment and decor. I also had a cycled, empty 55 gallon tank that I was gonna turn into an African cichlid tank. So I spent most of a day transforming the tank from a fish tank to a turtle tank....Not an easy thing to do! It is half way filled with water, free swimming on one side and basking area on the other side.

He seems to be enjoying himself and I've gotten him to eat crickets. This Friday I will go get some other foods for him to try.

For the most part, I'm clueless here. I really need help. I've never had any sort of turtle and until a few days ago I had never known a single thing about turtles, let alone how to care for one.

I've been trying to get advice on forums, but most of them are ghost towns. I'm hoping to get help here.

Anyways, nice to meet everyone! I'll try to attach a picture of the turtle.

http://www.thepufferforum.com/ug/ma...ownloadItem&g2_itemId=36352&g2_serialNumber=2

2. purplecandle

Can you guys see my post and pic? For some reason it disappeared?

3. Merlin

Merlin Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

Welcome Cynthia. You ran afoul of one of our anti spammer protocols that locks up a first post with a link in it. It will now display

4. purplecandle

Duh...I should have known better! Sorry! Just wanted to get that picture showing. Thanks for fixing it!