This Disappears When Logged In

The Substrate Saga

Discussion in 'African Fat-tailed Geckos' started by Armatron, Jun 12, 2012.

1. Armatron

Armatron New Member

I am new to caring for reptiles and have recently adopted two ~1 year old AFTs from a friend. They came in a ~20 gallon 'shallow' tank which was setup well - hot / cold sides, hides for each side, and an under tank heater. I have carefully monitored all temps (with IR tempgun and probes, both day and night) and made some small changes to better match all of the care sheets and they seem very happy overall.

The one thing I am having some issues with is the substrate material. They came to me on large bark pieces - it actually looks like bark you would buy from home depot (very large chunks) rather than actual reptile bark. After a ton of research I settled on eco-earth as a substrate and they love it. One of them likes to dig holes and then lay in it (I suspect for the humidity, and I have added a humid hide due to this behaviour) the other one will race around the tank every now and then to play which they wouldn't do on the bark.

Of course, I have read that some people have impaction problems with eco-earth. I suspect this has to do with what you feed them, as mine only 'strike' at crickets - when they do this, I would guess 5-10% of the total food they ingest is actually eco-earth substrate. I've tried feeding them super worms to avoid the 'striking' and ingestion of eco-earth, but one of my lizards simply hates the worms. He will lick the worm and then ignore it, running up to stare at me clearly wanting a cricket. He went to bed hungry last night, and still didn't have much interest in these super worms. He (she?) is otherwise healthy, although smaller than the one that eats anything put in front of his face. I think he just doesn't recognize that the worm as food.