This Disappears When Logged In

Taking Home My Savannah Monitor on Sunday.

Discussion in 'Monitors' started by caslove416, Sep 20, 2012.

1. caslove416

caslove416 Member

I am building his cage on saturday, and I an trying to get some idea's of how to do it. I know everyone says it has to be 8x4x4 but mine is going to be 6x4x4. I am planning on using plywood, but suggestions would be great as to go to treat it of if it would be good. Any help is much appreciated on overall care of this animal as I am kind of new to it, and did a lot of research but there are so many opinions on care out there. If anyone has a enclosure plan from their build that would be great.

Thanks! Cassi

2. murrindindi

murrindindi Elite Member

Hi Cassi, before we go any further can you give a few details of how you`re keeping the monitor now, and why you`ve decided the new enclosure will be 6 feet long instead of 8? Thanks!

3. caslove416

caslove416 Member

He is still at the store I bought him at, untill sunday when I will have an enclosure for him. Its going to be 6 feet because that is what i have the room for right this second, but I will be moving soon and building an enclosure even bigger. This is just for now to get him out of the pet store because they are not properly taking care of him.

4. murrindindi

murrindindi Elite Member

O.k, the first thing is to read the caresheet here at the HC on Savannah monitors (near the top left on the home page), that gives enough info to get you going in the right direction.
    As far as the "box" itself, best to use a water based polyurethane varinsh to seal the plywood with, at least 3 or 4 coats (the oil based takes much longer to cure), and we discuss this in the guide as well as lining the base/sides up to the substrate level.
    After you`ve read the caresheet come back with some specific questions (and ask as many as you want)!

5. AjaMichelle

AjaMichelle Elite Member

Here's the HC caresheet