This Disappears When Logged In

Some Snakes from Arizona (pic Heavy)

Discussion in 'Field Herping' started by JoshuaJones, Nov 19, 2012.

1. JoshuaJones

JoshuaJones Banned User

Hi, guys. I'm a noob to this forum, but I've got some field herping photos that I thought some of you might enjoy. I've only been seriously field herping for a few years now, although I've been informally herping for more than twenty. This year, I actually started taking photos of my finds, rather than let my brother handle the documentation process. I mainly photograph crotes, but I've got some other snakes that I'll toss in, as well.

I'll start with the most common snake that I encounter, the Western Diamondback rattlesnake (Crotalus atrox).

100_0719.jpg

100_0706.jpg

101_0043.jpg

WesternDiamondbackRattlesnake-1.jpg

I see mohaves (Crotalus scutulatus scutulatus) pretty often, as well. I only photographed one, this year, because he was found in a location where they were thought to have been extirpated.

100_0712.jpg

My first crote of the year was a new subspecies for me. I'm used to cercobombus, so finding the Colorado desert subspecies was a pleasant surprise.

Crotalus cerastes latereropens

ColoradoDesertSidewinder.jpg

My favorite crote has to be the Arizona black.

Crotalus cerberus

ArizonaBlackRattlesnake.jpg

ArizonaBlackRattlesnake-1.jpg

Tigers come in a close second.

Crotalus tigris

100_0573.jpg

100_0589.jpg

100_0617.jpg

100_0614.jpg

100_1383.jpg

100_1412.jpg

100_1419.jpg

Saw some nice specks this year, too.

Crotalus mitchelli pyrrhus

SouthwesternSpeckledRattlesnake.jpg

SouthwesternSpeckledRattlesnake-3.jpg

SouthwesternSpeckledRattlesnake-1.jpg

101_0136.jpg

Of course, when you're out looking for cerbs, specks, and tigers, some of these guys are just bound to pop up.

Crotalus molossus molossus

firstmolossusof2012.jpg

NorthernBlacktailRattlesnake-2-1.jpg

101_0004.jpg

NorthernBlacktailRattlesnake-2.jpg

NorthernBlacktailRattlesnake.jpg