This Disappears When Logged In

So My Iguana Is Addicted To Emeraid....

Discussion in 'Green Iguanas' started by Ktgrandchamp, Feb 25, 2016.

1. Ktgrandchamp

Ktgrandchamp Member

My juvenile blue iguana Loki has been on emeraid (a calcium phosphorous supplement prescribed by his vet) for a good two to three months now and will still not eat his salad. He has no problem however eating his emeraid with no forcing whatsoever. The last few days I've been shoving small pieces of collards in his mouth which he at least eats and does not spit out. What should I do to get him to just eat his salad instead of the medicine? How should I wean him off the emeraid?

2. FervidBrutality

FervidBrutality Elite Member

That's an interesting scenario. Some animals are "intelligent" enough to prefer some foods over others. I'm no expert, but you may be able to lessen the amount you provide over a period of time; mix in less and less over the course of a week or two - kinda like how you transition a cat from one food to another. Try not to force-feed. He may take it, but that doesn't mean it isn't causing stress.

Also, talk to your vet if you haven't already.

3. Darkbird

Darkbird Moderator Staff Member

I know nothing about this product, is it a powder or liquid? Either way you could chop the salad fine and mix the stuff into it, that way he can't get one without the other.

4. Merlin

Merlin Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

Tell us exactly how you are housing it. Sometimes a minor little thing can change the entire game.
    What was the iguana being treated for?

5. Ktgrandchamp

Ktgrandchamp Member