This Disappears When Logged In

Snake Won't Eat. Help!

Discussion in 'Kingsnakes' started by Kingsav603, Aug 25, 2014.

1. Kingsav603

Kingsav603 New Member

Alright guys. About a month ago I got a female Common KingSnake. She's about 3 feet long. And in a 25 gallon tank. With shavings as the bottom. This is my first snake. When I put her in he separate tote to feed her she seems scared of the rat. I've downsized the rat multiple times and she still seems scared. I'm starting to get worried. She isn't getting ready to shed cause she just came out of shed about a week ago. Please somebody help. It's been about a month since she has eaten.

2. blubudgie

blubudgie New Member

I'm still new to snake keeping, I got my BP yesterday. But I think a month is a long time to go without food, considering I plan to feed mine every week. Have you checked her tank conditions? Temp, Humidity, Noise? Maybe she is stressed from that? Have you tried different kinds of food? Frozen, Live, Pre-killed, cut open, Mice? If the rat is dead maybe you can leave it with her for a while and leave her alone.
    I hope someone more experienced than me can help you :(

3. Merlin

Merlin Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

We need more details. What are the temperatures in the tank? And how are you measuring them? How big of a rat are you trying to feed it?

4. Darkbird

Darkbird Elite Member

And where did the snake come from, and what was the previous owner feeding it?

5. TamJam

TamJam Elite Member

...and, please get rid of the "shavings" - whatever they are. Cedar is toxic, pine is also, though less so than cedar. NO wood shavings please. They can get respiratory infections from the dust in any case, toxic or not. Newspaper is better.

All the other advice is good so please answer the questions!

6. Merlin

Merlin Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

Tammy, aspen shavings are frequently used as snake bedding. It's fine.

7. TamJam

TamJam Elite Member