This Disappears When Logged In

Sliding Glass Door or Hinged Glass Door?

Discussion in 'Enclosures' started by exotics, Jan 3, 2014.

1. exotics

exotics New Member

I'm debating rebuilding my bearded dragon cages (replacing the PVC framework with wood framework) and would like to make a front facing door for each of them (they currently have a piece of plywood that lays over the top of their enclosures and a hole for the light to hang down). I have never worked with glass before and wouldn't know the slightest thing to do with it so I was wondering which would be easier to install and which would be cheaper, a sliding glass door or a hinged glass door?
    Subtract getting caught in the track of the sliding doors isn't a problem because their floors are lined with removable tiles.
    I will, however, state right now that I am not the greatest with tools and I have no tools to cut glass either, I would be buying precut sheets from the store.
    Also, if I go with sliding doors would I need a lock for any type of lizards or is that only with snakes?
    Thanks for any input :)

2. Thalatte

Thalatte Elite Member

Sliding glass doors are cheaper and easier. You just need to remember to get the glass edges rounded off so they dont chip over time. You wouldnt need a lock for the beardies.

3. Merlin

Merlin Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

Although a lock is a good idea if you have others in your home that might be tempted to mess with it.

4. Darkbird

Darkbird Moderator Staff Member

The only time sliding doors can be a problem is if you are keeping lizards on some type of particulate substrate. They will inevitably get it in the track for you. Not as much of a problem with snakes, and of course when using tile, as in your case, no problem at all. As for the glass, if you have someplace that does glass cutting near you you can have it cut to size and the edges rounded for a reasonable price.

5. CryHavoc17

CryHavoc17 Elite Member