This Disappears When Logged In

Sliding Doors...

Discussion in 'General Construction' started by dieseldragon, Apr 23, 2013.

1. dieseldragon

dieseldragon Well-Known Member

So I have some experience building things but not by myself. The idea im playing with is a cabinet cage but im picky and cant find what I want.... so now im entertaining the idea of just building one from scratch... either way I want sliding doors.
    How would I install them?
    Glass or plexiglass?
    Approx. Price range?

Any other building advice is very appreciated!

2. NancyA

NancyA Elite Member

Glass or plexi would really depend on the type of animal you are planning on housing. Plexi will scratch from claws and cloud with high humidity or improper cleaning. Glass is easier to maintain but you would need to consider the thickness of the glass dependent on the animal. All of the hardware that you will need, runners and locks can be purchased in the big box stores or your local hardware store.
    Cost factor again would be dependent on size, material chosen and thickness of glass/plexi. Plexi products can run from $10 for plexi on up to $60 for lexan. Glass is cheaper but not as strong. Hint though with making two doors buy your glass or plexi large enough for both and have them cut it to size in the store. It's cheaper buying larger and if they cut it you don't need to worry about breaking it while cutting.

Last edited: Apr 23, 2013
  3. dieseldragon

Its for a cwd so im thinking glass. How thick should it be if its in 2 pieces... roughly 1.5x4 feet each side?

4. murrindindi

murrindindi Elite Member

Hi, you`ll need 6mm (1/4 inch) plate glass.

5. kriminaal

kriminaal HH Block Leader Staff Member Premium Member

Think about insulation value as well. Like Stefan said go with 1/4" plate glass. It holds in heat fairly well.

6. Merlin

Merlin Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

And anything much thinner is going to be very delicate!

7. dieseldragon