This Disappears When Logged In

Severely Dehydrated Veiled Cham

Discussion in 'Chameleons' started by gijotozier, Sep 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gijotozier

gijotozier Member

Hi there. I am new to this posting but have been reading a lot lately. Back in early August, my husband and I were in a complete panic about what to get our daughter for her 8th birthday. Well to make a long story short, we were roped into buying a $300.00 veiled chameleon (with supposedly complete set-up) that was on consignment because the boy didn't want him anymore. It's a 3-ft tall, 2-feet wide and 1-ft deep wire meshed enclosure, with a Ficus and a water bowl with a bubbler in it. Well, last Friday he just fell out of his tree and laid there. Freaked us out! We took him 20 minutes away to a vet, and was told he was severely dehydrated and had a one in ten shot at staying alive. He gave us some meds to give him a shot twice a day, and hope that by today he would be well enough to hold himself in the tree. Well...he's still REALLY weak, but I have gotten him to eat some meal worms and two small crickets. I am hand misting every 1-3 hours as much as I can. I also got some reptile drops to put in the misting water, and some coconut shell husk to go on the bottom of the cage. The temp just dropped in our house and we think he might have gotten cold, so we use a heating pad at night to warm the enclosure. The Vets assistant was pleasantly surprised that he was still alive today, and I am awaiting a call from him now. He is just so weak, and doesn't really seem to have in interest in eating. I even tried some veal babyfood, he didn't like that! Does anyone have any advise for me now? Thanks so much.

Oh, his name is Buddy, and he is an 11 month old Veiled Chameleon.
    Thanks

2. schlegelbagel

schlegelbagel Frog Lover Premium Member