This Disappears When Logged In

Savannah Monitor Help

Discussion in 'Monitors' started by Dbld420, Oct 3, 2017.

1. Dbld420

Dbld420 Active Member

I'm New to this, don't know how to post my own thread. I bought a tank 3 weeks ago, it had a savannah monitor in it. The person was just can take the lizard with him, but it he had no front claws, missing a bunch on the back. Now I know that he had stick shed for who knows how long. I kept the lizard as well because he was in bad shape. Hes doing good now. Things his toes are coming back (didn't know that could happen) now I'm hoping the claws will too. Hes very tame. The guy said he's a year old, but I don't think he's big enough, maybe just stunted growth... anyways. The reason I'm posting is he has started to when I let him run free, he comes back to me and is friendly, but he runs his head into my skin, as if he wants to burrow, and then opens his mouth. He nipped me one time because I wasn't paying attention, but he does it very slowly, not like he's attacking. Can anyone tell me what's going on, Will it stop, or a way to correct it. Thanks.

2. murrindindi

murrindindi Elite Member

Hi, toes cannot regrow, claws can if the root hasn`t been damaged.
    Can you show a few photos of the whole enclosure (including the top) and give details of the conditions?

3. Dbld420

Dbld420 Active Member

I'm building a 6x4x4 should be done less than month.

Attached Files:

4. Dbld420

Dbld420 Active Member

5. Dbld420

Dbld420 Active Member

130 basking 60 - 75% humidity. 85 - 90 temp

6. dp428

dp428 Established Member

good job covering up the top that will keep humidity and heat in. could you take more pictures of the Savannah itself so we can see from head to tail, underneath, individual feet, mouth and eyes.

Also do you notice and mucus coming out of the nose or anything like that?

Dbld420 likes this.
  7. murrindindi

murrindindi Elite Member