This Disappears When Logged In

Sarahs Bloated!!!

Discussion in 'Uromastyx' started by awall3202, Mar 29, 2011.

1. awall3202

awall3202 Elite Member

she ate all her food, and i also put an amarylis from my moms yard in there. i read up on them and the bulb itself is poisonous but not the flower unless eaten in very large quantities but other wise is supposed to be good for the body, she only took about two bites, but now shes really bloated. i attached some pictures ( i hope it worked, its my first time) but they're in my album if not. is there anything i can do? she seems fine we had her out for a lil bit so i could take the pics and shes moving as fast as she always does.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Dragonflies

Dragonflies Banned User

List that I've looked at have it as being dangerous for reptiles.

Where did you get your information? Just because something is ok for humans, doesn't mean it is ok for animals.

You deduced yourself that it is toxic in quantity (I assume that's for humans). Why take the risk? That seems plain silly to me.

I suggest you look for an emergency vet, and see what they have to say. You might be lucky, as she seems ok at the moment, bit you never know.

3. missabrat

missabrat Elite Member

Hi, sorry I cannot help, I don't know much about these guys!
    Sarah is a pretty girl!
    Can you give a run down on how your keeping her, I am sure someone will be along that has knowledge on these guys and any info regarding temps, substrate, and an over all idea of her cage set up will help them to help you and Sarah.
    Oh, was there any use of pesticides, or things like Miracle grow used in or around the area where you got the plants?

4. Dragonflies

Dragonflies Banned User

I've looked at about ten lists, all of them say that bulb, stem and flower is toxic to reptiles.
    The toxin is an alkaloid, alkaloids are usually the worst kind of poisons. This particular alkaloid affects the gastrointestinal tract in reptiles.

5. Rich