This Disappears When Logged In

Rescued Female Amel Won't Eat

Discussion in 'Reticulated Pythons' started by medusa1974, Dec 7, 2014.

1. medusa1974

medusa1974 Well-Known Member

I rescued a couple retics about 3 months ago. A 14ft female Amel and an 11ft male supertiger. To start I have plenty of experience with all large snakes (retics,burms,anacondas)
    I brought them in got them in proper enclosures, they were housed together in a cages by design arboreal enclosure. They are in 6x3 enclosures now. I gave them a couple weeks to settle in and destress and tried feeding them. The male supertiger eats like a normal retic (he's a garbage disposal) the female amel won't eat anything!!! They have both been to the vet and given a clean bill of health. I have no background on these snakes. They were left in a ladies garage when her husband left her and she said she had nothing to do with them!!!

Sooooo..... Any ideas from anyone as what to try!!! I've been thru everything FT rats,rabbits,guinea pigs! I've tried live PK FT everything I can think of!!!!!!!! I'm at a loss, I've kept these beautiful creatures for years and never had one go on a hunger strike this long even during breeding I can get them to take small meals!!!!

Thanks ahead of time for any ideas advice or help.

2. jeffk31

jeffk31 Member

Hi there,

First off I'd like to say good for you for rescuing them. Glad to hear they're with someone who knows what they are doing now!

I've kept retics for many years, and have come across several people who encounter similar problems. Only difference is I can usually VERY quickly distinguish critical errors regarding husbandry and/or care. In your case its obviosly a bit more complicated because it sounds like you genuinely have a good understanding of how to keep retics.