This Disappears When Logged In

RES green feeding and questions

Discussion in 'Turtles' started by Dan01, Jan 22, 2015.

1. Dan01

Dan01 Established Member

I don't have a red eared slider , but my friend does. He is being raised on pellets and dried shrimp. I'm guessing his shell is about four inches long and he is in a 20 gallon long, filled about half way with water. The basking spot is I don't know hot, and I know he doesn't either, the same with water temps and air temps.
    I'm no expert with turtles, but I'm sure that this isn't completely correct. Any input?
    And how are greens usually offered to turtles in a fully aquatic setup? (with a basking platform, of course)
    If your wondering why I'm the one inquiring about this, well...he's just that type, I guess. I mean I was the one who cleaned the turtle tank last time I was around.
    It's kind of frustrating hearing him talk about all the reptiles he wants when the one he has hasn't eaten for a week because he ran out of commercial pellets!
    But about the question; I'd appreciate more for my friends turtle than anything else for input!

2. Darkbird

Darkbird Elite Member

Well, here's how I keep mine: basking site 90-100, they actually have a bit of a range with how I set them up. Water temp around 78. I use a self ballasted mecury vapor bulb for basking to give them UV, and I habe another light for ambient. Diet is as varied as I can manage, mazuri pellets, assorted insects, greens, even some rodents. Fish and whatnot as is available. As for the greens and how I feed, they mostly get a mix of collard, turnip, and mustard, which is chopped and just thrown in. They browse on them at their leisure.

TamJam likes this.
  3. Dan01

Dan01 Established Member