This Disappears When Logged In

probiotic use and antibiotic

Discussion in 'Herp Health' started by Mark, Jan 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mark

Mark Elite Member

OK guys I'm an engineer not a chem head so here goes nothing.

Why is it general practice to give probiotics at the same time as giving antibiotics especially when both are given orally? I understand their use after. As I see it the antibiotic will kill off the probiotic and not be as potent to kill off what is needed to be killed.

2. Lyn

Lyn Elite Member

I was under the impression that the probiotics should be used when the course of antibiotics is done....to replace the gut flora......maybe Im wrong??

3. Merlin

Merlin Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

My understanding as well.
    Doesn't seem to make much sense to apply the probiotics at the same time as something that will neutralize it.

4. Colleen

Colleen Elite Member

My understanding is the same. Antibiotics don't pick and choose what flora they kill off, they usually kill off everything. Probiotics cultivate good flora back into the intestinal track.

5. Dominick

Dominick Founding Member

I agree with the rest. It's usually Probiotics after a course of anti-biotics is finished in order to replenish the gut flora killed by the ABX.

6. CodyW

CodyW Elite Member

That's correct, the good gut flora dies that breaks down the food and provides vitamins, minerals, and energy, and why I don't take antibiotics unless it's serious.

7. Mark

Mark Elite Member

I have been corresponding via email with someone I have met over on a yahoo advanced iguana mailing list and here is what he has told me:

another few users there have spoke along the same lines.

8. SurvivorSteph

SurvivorSteph Subscribed User Premium Member