This Disappears When Logged In

Private Messaging

Discussion in 'Site Tutorials' started by Rich, Nov 7, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rich

    Rich Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

    Whenever a user needs to contact another member, we encourage they use the PM system. In fact, we insist upon it. Messages directed at another member, posted on the forums, will be removed.

    At that point, YOU will receive a PM from the deleting staff member explaining that posts like that need to be sent via PM. Users that repeatedly disregard this and post to users on the forums (directly) will be removed from the site.

    What is Private Messaging?

    Private Messaging is the in-house equivalent of email. Private Messages (PM's) are used to carry on personal conversations with other members, and is also the preferred method used by the moderating staff for communicating with members.

    Using the Private Message System

    There are several methods to utilize the PM system. The easiest method is to look up the user you wish to PM via the member list (found in the navbar at the top of the site) and view their profile. There is an option within every users profile to PM them.

    If you click it, a new window will appear and that users name will automatically be inserted into the "to" field. Simply type your message and hit send!

    Another way to contact a member and PM them is to locate their name in a post. If you click on their name, a dropdown menu will appear. Within the options displayed is the option to PM that user. Again, a new window will appear and that users name will appear in the "to" field. Type your message and hit send!

    If you know the users online name that they use on the site, you can also compose a new PM. Simply click "Private Messages" in the navbar at the top of the page and your "inbox" will open. On the left hand side of the screen, scroll down to: "Send New Message".

    When clicked, a new window will open. All of the fields will be empty and you will be required to manually enter the users name. If you enter it incorrectly, the system will notify you when you hit send.

    Viewing Private Messages

    When you have a new message, you can be notified by email or by a pop up on the site. These options can be set in your UserCP.(found in the navbar at the top of the page.)

    You can also check to see if you have a new PM by looking in the navbar at the top of the screen. If you have a new PM, the new PM will be present there. Click the "Private Messages:" text, and you will be presented with any new PM's and the option to respond after reading it.

    The PM system was developed so users can carry off topic conversations on the site and as a means to communicate privately between friends. We hope you find this tool useful!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page