This Disappears When Logged In

New with Lots of Questions

Discussion in 'Bearded Dragons' started by SammieLee, Jul 27, 2012.

1. SammieLee

SammieLee Elite Member

I am very new to all this.....we don't even own a bearded dragon yet. I am getting one for my son for his birthday. I want to make sure I know what we are doing before we bring it home...my first question is should we get one or two. I am planing on getting babies and I didn't know if they would ways be able to stay together if I get two??? If I'm understanding right when they are babies you can not tell the sex of them. So what happens if I end up with 2 males?? I kinda want to get him 2 of them but I want them to be able to stay in the same cage. 
    Next question I have is about water. I am not finding any where if you have to add anything to it to make it safe...we have city water... Like I have too for our fish and hermit crabs. 
    Hope I'm not asking to much but I really want to make sure I have it all right before we bring it home... I have seen more than one place where it says no sand for babies. But at the pet store they said it was fine. So can you put a baby on sand or not??? If not what do you put the babies on?? Paper towels (saw that on one site)??? How old before you put them on sand?? 
    Have also seen many many different answers on how many times a week you add calcium to crickets.. 
    Also what fruits and veggies can they eat?? O and one more question... I thought you feed them daily (veggies and crickets) but I had one person tell me he only gives his crickets every couple weeks??? And they are still little...sorry I have so many questions.. I'm getting a little stressed reading online when every site tells me something different. Thanks in advance for all your help.   

2. mld

mld Subscribed User Premium Member

Glad you joined prior to purchasing a Bearded Dragon :)
    One most definitely! More than one can lead to a lot of problems