This Disappears When Logged In

New To Red Tailed Ackie Care Questions

Discussion in 'Monitors' started by Kaitlyn Boucher, Aug 23, 2018.

1. So, I'm VERY new to owning reptiles. I love them to death and I have been wanting one since I was little. I am currently 17 and my mother is finally thinking about letting me have an Ackie, which is really the only thing she's even said "We'll see." to. I have been doing as much research as I can so that if I am able to get one I'd be able to care for it properly. But throughout my research there has been constant bickering between people on certain things when it comes to housing and substrate for them.

1. Terrarium Size: All around I've been seeing the dimensions 4x2x2, but when I look further and try to see the suggestions for a single Ackie I cant seem to find a size. I only see people recommending a size for multiple monitors. In a thread I finally saw a measurement for a singular monitor, being a 5x2.5-3x3 (feet). I just wanna make sure what a good size would be so that the Ackie wouldn't outgrow the tank in a few months. I did read the care thread in the monitor forums, but I want to see what others think and if possible pictures to help. My dad is a construction worker and could help build a cage if necessary (I've seen people say you cant get a suitable one online plus I feel building it would be cheaper.)

2. Substrate: This is probably the BIGGEST thing that people have been arguing on that I've seen in researching these. I've seen people recommend granite but then others say there's nothing but bad reviews and that it can cause intestinal issues when digested. I know that they need a good deep layer of it (8 to 12") to burrow and that it would have to hold up the burrows and keep humidity. Peoples have also suggested to spray the burrows while the Ackie isn't inside to keep it humid. What would you recommend for substrate and what is your experience with it for raising Ackies?