This Disappears When Logged In

New Snake Owner with No Experience

Discussion in 'Reticulated Pythons' started by fishhead, Jul 28, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fishhead

fishhead Member

Hi, im new to this forum and also new to snakes. Last week I took in a 6 ft retic with little notice. I had little choice as the owner was going to eat it if I didnt take it. Im a graduate of a fish and wildlife school so I know I can do this, im just having troubles as all beginers would. The snake seems to me to be very skinny for its length and I cant get it to eat. I tried a small hampster with no luck and then tried a baby chicken as the prior owner fed it doves. Well I cant find doves so I used chicken. I just put its food in the tank but they die in a day or two.
    I live in the philippines which is the snake species native land. For this I think it shouldnt need to be warmed much? I have a lamp at o e end I turn on if its not real hot even though its always hotter then 76.
    Last problem which is the biggest problem, im scared to pick it up. Its a tame snake and doesnt seem aggressive but im naturally nervious. Ichave touched it and started to pick it up but got scared when he turned its head near my hand. It spends most of its time in a cloth bag which I change every few days. I also clean the tank witg a slightly soapy rag and then wash it again with a tiny bit of alcohol.
    If anyone would have the patience to help me id be very thankful. Im new but very experienced with most other wildlife. Thanks

2. TJOHNSON722

TJOHNSON722 Elite Member

First thing read a LOT of caresheets on retics. They grow to well over 15-20 feet in captivity. Temps need to be hotter than 76. More around 85-90 on hot side and 75 on cool side with 60-70% humidity. Put a cardboard box on each side of the enclosure. You need thermometers to tell you the temperatures.