This Disappears When Logged In

New Iguana, Could Use Some Help!

Discussion in 'Green Iguanas' started by Steveho73, Sep 19, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Steveho73

Steveho73 Active Member

I just adopted an adult iguana (I've had some iguana experience in the past but most of my reptile experience comes from beardies). The woman I adopted her from says she has had her for 7 years and got her from a pet store when she was very small. She told me her diet and its definately not what I have read is good for them. She said she likes yellow squash, scrambled eggs, pork from pork fried rice and loves pizza. She also feeds her adult iguana food. Not a very good diet at all and I will be changing that (slowly I'm sure since she is already used to certain things). She seems very fat to me; very solid body, good girth on her tail but her hands and feet seem awfully fat. I don't really see any signs of MBD in her head or tail, but I'm concerned about how her feet look. She told me that she never caged her and had a heat lamp over the couch where she would bask. I'm going to start working in ALOT more veggies making collards and mustard greens the staples. If anyone as any advice on changing a stubborn iguanas diet, please let me know.

As you can see from the pic, she is red but her belly is green. The femoral pores seem small and are not protruding. I also do not see any secretions so she does in fact seem like a female. Do red iguanas have green bellies or do I in fact have a male on my hands in breading season?

I will of course be taking her to a vet for a full checkup but I wanted to give her a week or so to get used to the new place and faces before another stressful journey.