This Disappears When Logged In

New Baby Beardie May Have a Problem?

Discussion in 'Bearded Dragons' started by irishluck, Dec 9, 2013.

1. irishluck

irishluck Active Member

So I just got a baby bearded dragon like 2 days ago.

Its body is 2"-3" long and with tail is prolly total of 5-6"

My question is I noticed this thing sticking out from his belly.
    Attached is a picture.

Should I be concerned?

IMAG06652.jpg

IMAG0665.jpg

2. preyparade

preyparade Well-Known Member

I am no expert, but that looks concerning to me.

3. jarich

jarich Elite Member

I could be wrong, but that looks like the umbilical cord (allantois) hasnt healed fully or maybe not correctly. Ive never had one so young before though so others here may have more experience with newborn lizards

4. Thalatte

Thalatte Elite Member

Looks like a leaftover ambilical cord to me. Just leave it alone to heal and it will fall off when its ready.

well I am not sure if its called an ambilical cord as i dont think it feeds nutrients to the embryonic lizard...

5. irishluck

irishluck Active Member

After I posted this I was trying to Google it around some more and there were other people that were saying the same things. That it was left over from the egg.

It just really concerned me seeing that and didnt know what it was!

And yea he is a very young one. I think hes just over a week old now.
    How long should I wait before I start giving him a bath?

6. Thalatte

Thalatte Elite Member

I would say atleast 2 weeks or so. You want him settled in and eating well before you stress him out with bathes.

7. irishluck

irishluck Active Member

Well just to throw out there he seems pretty settled in. Hes been eating a lot for a baby!(which is good) I feed him twice a day and he eats about 4-5 crickets at a time.

I keep some fresh greens in there but hasn't eaten very many of them, but have read that babies eat more crickets until they get older, which is when they eat more veggies.

8. poofandmook