This Disappears When Logged In

Need Help with Severely Dehydrated MHD Rescue!

Discussion in 'Lizards - General' started by Alby, Jun 9, 2011.

1. Alby

Alby Elite Member

Hi all! I'm new to this sector of the community and I need some advice concerning my latest rescue. The store I work at received a mountain horned dragon about 3 weeks ago and he was so dehydrated he couldn't move any of his legs, had scales just falling off in patches, and had lock-jaw. I had been rehabilitating him in-store, but all the progress I would make during my shifts would be undone by my talentless co-workers during my days off. I finally took him home today after doing as much research as I could. To my horror, when I went to pick him up he was black, cold, and lifeless. I managed to revive him and he seems to be okay, though he still can't really use his legs. I just want to verify that I've got everything set up correctly and am doing everything I can to make him better.

I've got him in a tall 30gal viv for now (until I can build a bigger one) with jungle bark and patches of moss as the substrate. He's got a bunch of wood branches, fake plants, a large soaking dish, waterfall, and a 5.0 full spectrum UV light. His temp was sitting at 85 during the day and has dropped to 75 now that I've set him up for the night. The only issue I seem to be having is keeping the humidity up. I can't get it up past 60 even though it feels rather moist in there and I've misted him with warm water 4 times since I brought him home this afternoon. He won't touch live food so I'm syringe feeding for now. I'm also giving him water by syringe, which he seems to like, as well as warm water soaks (I'm planning for 2-3 times a day... he's had 2 today).

If anyone could offer any critiques/advice on how I can keep the humidity up and/or improve my rehabilitation process it would be much appreciated. I already though I lost the little guy once, I want to make sure he's going to be okay.

2. Renouji