This Disappears When Logged In

My New Sav Monitor

Discussion in 'Monitors' started by Ahura, Jan 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ahura

Ahura Elite Member

Hello everyone! I am new to this forum.

I am planning to buy a sav monitor. I have never owned a reptile before but I know a lot about them. I read forums and caresheets and books all the time. I am a reptile enthusiast but I just don't own any. I would like to get a sav monitor but I have heard it is not a good beginner reptile. I have lots of knowledge about them and I know friends that have one. I also work at a pet store. Is a savannah monitor a good choice for me? And also, I heard you can put monitors on wood shavings (not cedar) is that a good idea?

2. kriminaal

kriminaal HH Block Leader Staff Member Premium Member

In the words of it not being a good beginner reptile I would tend to agree.
    Mostly because of the size they grow to for food and housing requirements.
    Getting to around 4 feet and not much of it tail they require a cage footprint of 8ft x 4ft x 4ft.
    Using shavings is not a suitable substrate for them. That is one of the main issues with premature Sav deaths; the internet is full of inaccurate info.
    I recommend this book to everyone who has Savs or is thinking of purchasing.
    http://www.herpcenter.com/books/19575-truth-about-savannah-monitors.html#post177197

Many people have them but not many keep them correctly. Because they are very tough at putting up with inadequate husbandry conditions. They can live for a few years before health issues begin to arise.

Not to slam you for your remarks but education of reptiles is no replacement for actual hands on experience.

I would suggest a leopard gecko for your first. Or if you would like something a little larger, then perhaps a bearded dragon.

3. Lucysfriend

Lucysfriend Elite Member

Or a BTS :)
    They are great fun!

4. Ahura

Ahura Elite Member