This Disappears When Logged In

My Boy Elroy.....help Me......please!

Discussion in 'Green Iguanas' started by redtailgal, Nov 14, 2011.

1. redtailgal

redtailgal Elite Member

My Boy Elroy.....major problem tonight! Advice?

This may end up being a short novel. For that, I apologize now. I am flabbergasted, twitterpated....whatever the right word is, that is what I am.

So anyway. I have never had a lizard. Always wanted one, but not like this. I am not a total newb.....I rehab snakes in my county. But lizards have legs, and snakes dont, there is a huge difference. Ok I am a total newb.

nuff about me. Let's talk about Elroy.

My mother called me and siad that one of her friends husband was very ill and had to travel for medical care, they would be gone 3 months and needed someone to care for their iguana. Cool! I said. That was a stupid reaction.

So they bring me Elroy, after telling he he is "sweet" and "easy", and comes with "everything I will need for him". They show up with a 3 foot ****ed off iguana in a WAY too small AQUARIUM. This aquarium has a potting soil substrate that has been in there for an entire year, and she planted grass in it, so it has stuff growing here and there. Yeah, I'd be a ****ed off lizard, too.

The "sweet" lizard proceeded to tail whip her as soon as she moved toward the "cage".......he was panicked when she reached in to pick him up, got very aggressive and so she backed down and put the lid back on the cage.

He had no UV light, no heater, and absolutely no water whatsoever in the cage. When asked, she told me that he did not need to have access to water all the time because it would cause a fungus. (????) She also told me that he was to be fed 3 times a week, a diet of lettuce and canned fruit. Once a week he should have a teaspoon of wet cat food and a small piece of cheddar cheese.
    And for a treat, he could have pancakes with only a tiny amount of syrup.
    Seriously.

I'm a newb, but I KNOW this is not right.