This Disappears When Logged In

Mangrove Monitor Enclosure

Discussion in 'Monitors' started by Waters, Jul 2, 2018.

1. Waters

Waters Member

Hello all......not new to Monitors (have kept Argus and Savannahs) but I am new to Mangrove Monitors. I can't seem to find any information online regarding if it is necessary (or helpful at all) to keep a large soaking dish filled with brackish water? I was told my a couple of people that it helps with their skin and gives them a more natural environment. I keep reef tanks so I have access to aquarium salt. I also have a fresh water waterfall in the enclosure available for drinking (even though they do possess glands to remove the salt from brackish water).

Thanks for any help you can provide :)

2. Lori68

Lori68 Subscribed User Premium Member

All I keep is either a sav and ackies, so I'm unfortunately not all that up on mangrove monitor care. One keeper I know of who wrote a few care sheets for species he has kept himself is this guy. And I hope that if anyone else with better knowledge can offer better than me will speak up and add more. Other than that, this is about all I have for you.

mangrove - philipniceguy

Waters likes this.
  3. Waters

Waters Member

Thanks Lori68....that is more than I had before :)

4. murrindindi

murrindindi Elite Member

Hi, I would definitely advise using a water container and also heating the water to around the mid 80`sF, just because the animal may choose to spend some time in there. As far as adding aquarium salt to make it brackish, I don`t believe it will harm the monitor even if it`s of no benefit.
    Can you show a few photos of the setup?

Waters likes this.
  5. Waters

Waters Member