This Disappears When Logged In

Looking for a Reputable Ball Python Breeder in MD

Discussion in 'Ball Pythons' started by angrykitten, Feb 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. angrykitten

angrykitten Elite Member

As explained in my introduction thread I am new to this forum and I am just learning about snakes.
    We have decided (I think I pretty much convinced my husband too! :)) to take a ball python and I have been going back and forth to Petco or a the pet store at the Mall just to be able to talk about them and have the possibility to hold one.
    There are even several people trying to sell their ball pythons through craiglist, but my savvy husband said that if we get one we should go to a reputable breeder.
    Now, being new to herpiculture, I don't know where to find one.
    I live in Maryland, half an hour from Baltimore and one hour from DC. Does anybody can tell me where should I go to buy my ball python?
    For sure I wouldn't want to get one shipped to my house: I am looking for a place where they will possibly let me see one feeding, let me handle the snake before buying it and where I would be 100% sure to have a CB ball.
    Also, as this will be my very first snake, would you suggest to get a baby/young one? How old?

2. schlegelbagel

schlegelbagel Frog Lover Premium Member

I'm going to suggest the Mid Atlantic Reptile Rescue (MARS). Their listing is on Pet adoption: Want a dog or cat? Adopt a pet on Petfinder and there are ALWAYS ball pythons available. I believe they do health screenings and make sure the snake is suitable for adoption.

If you have your heart set on a new one though, there is a monthly reptile show in havre de grace. Maryland Reptile Farm

3. angrykitten

angrykitten Elite Member

Thanks! I already tried Petfinder, but they are no balls available neither in MD or VA right now.
    What about a reputable "reptile shop"?

4. schlegelbagel

5. angrykitten

angrykitten Elite Member