This Disappears When Logged In

Kenyan Sand Boa Desperate To Escape

Discussion in 'Boas' started by Danger Noodle, May 2, 2018.

1. Danger Noodle

Danger Noodle New Member

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting in a reptile forum. I have owned a Kenyan Sand Boa since Nov. 2015 without any major issues. However, lately he has been exhibiting some odd behavior, so I was hoping someone could give me advice.

Some background info:
    Kenyan sand boa
    Sex unknown
    Adopted Nov. 2015
    Age unknown (supposedly 2 years old at time of adoption, but was way too small so I suspect that info was incorrect)
    Currently 20 inches long, 6.7 oz (about 190 grams)
    Currently eats 1 thawed hopper every 2 weeks
    Last shed about 2 weeks ago
    Last fed 4/29

Tank set up:
    Reptile sand (he has always had sand)
    A cardboard box filled with Carefresh on the "cool" side of the tank
    Water dish
    Fake log (sometimes gets rotated with other objects such as a wooden bridge or fake plant)
    Humidity hut (I know sand boas don't usually have one, but he's always had one without issue. He does like to hang out in it once in a while)
    Ceramic heat emitter & heat pad on the "hot" side of the tank with temperature probe, both heat sources are on a thermostat set to 90 degrees in the daytime and 70 degrees at night

His tank has been basically the same for all 2 years that I've owned him. Usually my boa spends almost all of his time buried in the sand or Carefresh. For the past 4 days, however, he has been spending all of his time up against the tank wall, very strongly nosing around the top of the tank. I'm worried he might start damaging his nose by rubbing against the tank's metal mesh cover. When I open the tank, he's immediately coming over the wall, which is unusual because normally he tries to hide when a person is standing too close.