This Disappears When Logged In

Info on a boa plz

Discussion in 'Boas *General*' started by HerpboyNY, Jun 14, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HerpboyNY

HerpboyNY Elite Member

A new REPTILES magazine came in the mail yesterday. I was doing my little scan through that i do when I first get it and became hooked on a snake instsantly. This would be the Viper Boa. There's only a little info, can anybody provide more or find a source?

Thanx

2. jacky

jacky Moderated Status

Try google or yahoo! I'm sure you'll find lot's of info there!

3. Jay DeMore

Jay DeMore Elite Member

I have had some "hands on" experience with viper boas, a local pet shop had one that they claimed "was very aggressive". My personal opinion is that these snakes are not for beginners, they are very defensive and apt to strike. They seem shy and seclusive and do not like being handled. Of course as with all animals there are some exception, however if you are looking for a hands on snake, I wouldn't recommend the viper boa.

They are a pretty snake though, and if you are only going to have it for looking than it should be ok, just remember it still needs to be handled for cleanings and feedings.

4. HerpboyNY

HerpboyNY Elite Member

just for the records, I'm a beginner on this site, not at all with herps. I've worked with herps all my life and have kept fairly difficult species. I'm only posting this thread because i feel i am capable of keeping a difficult snake.

5. deltro_star

deltro_star Elite Member