This Disappears When Logged In

[in]Breeding Mice

Discussion in 'Feeders' started by Coffey, Feb 4, 2014.

1. Coffey

Coffey New Member

Hello all! I'm new to HC, and breeding mice.

I have a question on breeding mice. I'm planning to get 1 male and 4 females. Once a colony is established, is it critical to bring in new blood for breeding? Unsure (and can't find anything) on inbreeding mice, it seems logical that I'd need to continuously make sure I buy new breeders, but I really just don't know.

Would it hurt to inbreed mice? Hope someone here could help.

2. jaydsr2887

jaydsr2887 Elite Member

I don't think it would hurt, but probably benefit them and make them more healthy.... as in nature they are continuously exposed to new blood..... just my opinion.....

3. CryHavoc17

CryHavoc17 Elite Member

You will definitely need to bring new blood in fron time to time. Typically what most people do is wait until they start to see a decrease in litter size/ health of litters, then bring in some new males and retire and feed off most of the present breeder males and females. You could certainly be proactive and do this before you start seeing issues develope, but its not strictly speaking necessary

4. stoutm89

stoutm89 New Member