This Disappears When Logged In

How Important Is Cage Size?

Discussion in 'Monitors' started by Lori68, Jul 15, 2018.

1. Lori68

Lori68 Established Member

This question is directed towards those who have been keeping monitors for quite some time, not for new people just getting started. My reason for that is because long-term keepers have gone through years of seeing the effects of both good and bad, not just regurgitating someone else's info.

I started keeping monitors myself in 2012, so I'm still considered fairly new when it comes to the length many of you have been keeping. I am far from a beginner, but I'm not all-knowing. In fact, many of the aspects of keeping them have been missed by me because I'm not out to breed what I keep or look to get ones that are cool just because they're uncommon. I actually fell into monitor keeping by accident and because of the way I got into keeping them, my views are quite different than many of you.

I was a foster for a neglected sav that was dumped at a reptile rescue. Prior to that, I was just a snake keeper. Because of seeing the horrible state this sav was in, that became where I found my passion for monitor keeping. Getting the husbandry right. Fast forward 3 savs later and now 6 years of keeping them, I'm still stuck on the opinion that husbandry is far more important than anything else. That should come first and foremost before ever thinking of getting a female knocked up. Unfortunately, it seems the twisted ideas seen on social media is turning the idea that if you are breeding your animals, that must mean you are doing things right so caging can be altered to fit the keepers needs, not the monitors needs. I know that isn't true but I can't help feel that this is being pushed now.