This Disappears When Logged In

Hi, Everyone, Soon To Be Crested Gecko Owner

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Corycat, Mar 19, 2018.

1. Corycat

Corycat New Member

Hi, I'm Makayla, few random facts about me : I am a culinary arts graduate, I'm semi decent at art- if I have directions, I love decorating cake, I've never owned a reptile, but I do have a bit of a mini zoo - a dog, an 8 year old guinea pig, a betta fish, and a 20 gallon with cory catfish, guppies, amano shrimp, and a mystery snail. Anyways I'm preparing to bring home a crested gecko soon, I'm trying to make sure I have everything I need before I bring one home. Right now I have a vertical 20 gallon long, some fake bamboo branches made by Flukers, 4 fake vines, repashy food, and paper towels for substrate. I am also waiting for a suction cup bowl holder, cups for it, and a thermometer/hygrometer to come in the mail. I would like some opinions on my setup - I'm definitely willing to add more vines or anything. Also for misting the cage can I use any unused spray bottle for that? And during the winter months my house stay at 68F, I did buy a heater meant for a smaller tank to help warm it without it being too warm. Will that work?

Attached Files:

2. matthewgroskopf

matthewgroskopf Active Member

Looks great so far, you should think about adding live potted plants, Cresties tend to enjoy hanging on/around strong broad leafed plants, you can find the appropriate plant types on the site i'll list below, use it as a reference. Hell, you could put a small bush in there.. Just remember to remove the original soil and rinse the plants of any pesticides,parasites and chemicals unless you know the grower didn't use any.
    Plants for Crested Geckos | Live Terrarium Plants | Josh's Frogs

I would deff add more vines, a few ledges here and there or possibly put a background in so that he's not too stressed, you can use any generic aquarium background or coconut fiber which are both easy to clean.