This Disappears When Logged In

Hi! Come and Say Hello to Huey!

Discussion in 'Chameleons' started by Huey08, Apr 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Huey08

Huey08 Member

Hi! Please Come and Say Hello to little Huey!

Come and meet baby Huey, he's a 4 month old blue bar panther.

I'm a fairly new owner and I have some questions if you guys wouldn't mind.
    1) What time is the best time to feed him?
    2) I got a really expensive bulb ($99+) that does heat, uva, uvb, and it says it restores and maintains d3 levels. Does that mean I dust crickets and food with calcium that contains NO d3? He doesnt get much natural sunlight, just on the weekends when I take him out.
    3) Is it better to have heat on all the time and light on for only 10-12 hrs or have both on and off at the same time?

Thanks everyone!

Attached Files:

2. Hedge

Hedge Elite Member

That's one cool chameleon!
    As for the questions, I have no experience so im afraid I cant help!

3. schlegelbagel

schlegelbagel Frog Lover Premium Member

I know chams are overly sensative to TOO MUCH uvb. How much does yours put out? I know recommended is 5.0.

I don't know about the d3 question, someone will chime in.

4. Rich

Rich Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

Welcome to HC! Huey is beautiful. What is the name of the UV light you purchased?

Turning the heat off at night isn't an issue if the temps are not getting too low. If you are using an air conditioner, or are planning to, you may want a night heat source to get a good gradient.

To my knowledge, chams are diurnal so feeding an hour or 2 after the lights have been turned on and the cham has had time to warm up would be sufficient. Someone with more experience with chams however will be able to provide more info.