This Disappears When Logged In

Help! My Superworms Are Infested!

Discussion in 'Invertebrates General' started by HollyS, May 16, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HollyS

HollyS Well-Known Member

I've been breeding superworms as feeders for a few years now, and my colony has become infested with some sort of very tiny bugs! They are whitish in colour and about the size of fine grains of sand. Figuring at first that they must be some sort of grain pest, I completely changed the grain in all of my superworm bins, scrubbed everything, and bought all fresh stuff. For a while the bugs seemed to completely disappear, but they have come back with a vengeance! There are seriously BILLIONS of them in there, and I don't know what to do!

My superworms are in plastic bins in a cupboard under my lizard's terrarium. I keep them on a mixture of various grains with a handful of corn cob litter thrown in to control moisture. (The litter was frozen for a week first, to ensure that it's not carrying anything.) I feed them fresh fruits and veggies changed every other day; by the time I remove the leftovers, they look like they're covered in fuzz because they are SWARMING with those little bugs!!

These bugs don't appear to be affecting my superworms, as they're still reproducing well and growing huge, But they're REALLY grossing me out!! Has anybody ever heard of this happening? What the heck are these things, and how do I get rid of them without killing my entire colony? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

2. cassicat4

cassicat4 Subscribed User Premium Member

Grain mites! I've dealt with them on several occasions in the past. Absolute huge pains in the butt.

Throw out all the substrate, clean off the worms, scrub out the containers, and start fresh. However, keep in mind that they are notoriously difficult to eradicate, and you never truly will. At best, you can keep them to manageable levels.