This Disappears When Logged In

Hello from Westminster, MD!! New to Site!!!

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by BeardieIguanna, Nov 16, 2014.

1. BeardieIguanna

BeardieIguanna New Member

Hello,

I am new to the site, I have a young Beardie and an Iguanna. My hubby has a young Savannah Monitor and my youngest two children have Leopard geckos. I have loved animals ever since I can remember and grew up on a farm always helping injured wild animals and taking in strays. I have had iguanna's before and think they are wonderful. Im new to owning bearded dragons but use to work with one at a Pet store I use to work in. I work as a veterinary receptionist but we only do dog/cat and pocket pets, no exotics. I dont know much about the Savannah Monitors so any info or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Attached Files:

2. Dragoness

Dragoness Elite Member

I have a beardie, too!

From the pics, it looks like a few of your setups could use some work.

Are you handy or good at DIY, because that will save you TONS of $$$ by building your own, rather than buying store bought enclosures.

Your Savannah will need a MUCH larger enclosure to be healthy. Aquariums just won't do for an adult lizard. Something with a huge footprint - about 4x8 feet, with a height of 4 feet is a good start. If you have more room, bigger is better. I'm sure some of the monitor owners will be along shortly to chime in.

You can get some good ideas from the construction section of these forums.

You will also want to ditch the sand (or whatever the gritty stuff is) in your bearded dragon enclosure. While they come from arid and semi-arid habitats, they are usually found in rocky areas, rather than sandy ones. Also, the sand (or whatever) can be ingested, and cause serious problems.