This Disappears When Logged In

Female Iguana Egg Laying Questions

Discussion in 'Cyclura - Rock Iguana' started by Smaug2011, Nov 25, 2014.

1. Smaug2011

Smaug2011 New Member

Greetings,

This is my first post here.

I live with a 3 year old female Cuban Rock Iguana.

I have been working with iguanas for 18 years but my current iguana is my first female.

Currently we are in the midst of our first "egg laying season", and as I have never worked with females I am a bit concerned that things are not going correctly.

At the end of October (10/23/14) my iguana's behavior changed radically. No eating or pooping, and lots of scratching at the door to her (6 foot by 8 foot enclosure).

After numerous vet visits my vet informed me that egg folicles were visible on an x-Ray, and that I should provide a nest site.

The nest has been built. and my iguana goes in a digs, but we have seen no eggs and do not feel any when gently feeling her abdomen.

It has now been 34 days since the eating and pooping have been drastically reduced and still nothing. However in the last 3 days I have observed some eating and much more regular pooping.

So is it too soon for eggs (and I am just worrying for nothing), are the eggs being reabsorbed?

Any info would be a big help.

2. Merlin

Merlin Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

Now my experience is with greens as opposed to cyclura but The behavior change didn't just suddenly happen but was led up to over the course of a couple of weeks. The eating would slow down and then cease altogether a couple of weeks before laying. The body would swell and you could clearly tell the difference. There just was no room in there for food.
    The recommencement of eating signaled that the eggs were being absorbed.
    Hope this helps.

3. nocturnelle

nocturnelle New Member