This Disappears When Logged In

Eye Issues?

Discussion in 'Water Dragons' started by Oliver Walsh, Aug 17, 2017.

1. Oliver Walsh

Oliver Walsh Member

IMG_1740.JPG Hi everyone, i'm new to water dragons and reptiles in general. About a week ago, I got my baby dragon. He's about one year old and seems to be in good health. My only concern is that one of his eyes is a little bit.. weird. I don't know how to explain it exactly, but it is gray in color, swollen, and usually shut. if he does open it, it seems very dark. His other eye seems healthy.
    His environment is as optimal as i can get it: He has a large, glass tank with a 12 hour UVB light and a basking area under a ceramic heat emitter. His water bowl is well maintained and changed daily. His cage has coconut fiber substrate and is misted frequently. The cage humidity falls quickly but i like to keep it at about 70-80%, however it often falls to about 40-50%. It's hard to keep it as high as I want it but I plan on getting him a humidifier.
    Every morning i give him mealworms and occasionally waxworms, and he eats very well and without hesitation. In terms of his behavior, he is decently active especially at feeding time.
    I only see him in the mornings and evenings as i'm usually gone during the day. He eats in the morning and is pretty active but is usually asleep in his hiding spot or basking in the evenings. I haven't handled him very much but he is not afraid of my hand. I am slightly concerned about how he will rub himself against the glass, almost as if trying to escape. This isn't that often but i know it might be worthy of mentioning. Anyway, I want to know if i should take him to the vet for his eye and if he is generally good health and if i'm raising him right. Thank you if you can answer!
    IMG_1644.JPG IMG_1651.JPG IMG_1654.JPG IMG_1655.PNG IMG_1656.PNG

2. AmityReptiles

AmityReptiles Well Established Member