This Disappears When Logged In

Enclosure Questions

Discussion in 'Monitors' started by Alexjackson617, Jan 22, 2018.

1. Alexjackson617

Alexjackson617 Active Member

Hey all. I'm new to monitors and to this forum. I've been keeping fish my whole life and have some experience with lizards as well but this is my first big lizard.

I'm in the process of building the enclosure now. It's 5'x3'x3'. Once the monitor gets a little larger I am going to double the height. I can also expand the length if need be.

I'm most likely buying a Quince Monitor as I really like that adult size range, the temperament and that they use the water. I'm open to other suggestions from experienced people about similiar monitors as well if anyone has ideas.

My main question is about the enclosure. I want most of the bottom to be a relatively shallow pool of water for swimming as well as humidity. I've been looking at pre-formed pond liners but haven't found anything that will work yet. Any ideas about something to use to contain the water would be great.

Also, as far as heating an enclosure of this size. What wattage should I be looking for as a basking spot as well as the ceramic bulbs.

Thanks!

2. kriminaal

kriminaal HH Block Leader Staff Member Premium Member

I'll start off with saying the absolute biggest mistake people make with monitors is not having a constant adequate relative humidity in the air.
    Just having a tub of water will not help this much unless the enclosure is sealed and some heating source to cause the water to evaporate.
    Rubbermaid containers would be your best bet and I would install a drain for easy cleaning. He will crap in it and having to haul it out of there all the time you just aren't going to want to do.

Draw it out, plan to keep all bulbs inside. No top mesh with lights sitting on top. You'll need to heat the water from below as well. With a sealed enclosure you should be able to run a bank of 2-60 watt bulbs.