This Disappears When Logged In

Designing an Enclosure for 2 Blue Tongue Skinks

Discussion in 'General Construction' started by Bennett, Oct 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bennett

Bennett Member

As the name says, I need help designing an enclosure for 2 blue tongue skinks. I have never tried building an enclosure before so I really have no idea what I'm doing. Right now I have only one blue tongue skink but I'm hoping to get another very soon. First I need to know what size would be best for two of them? And because I'm on a tiny little budget, I think (or hope..) building one will be cheaper. I really don't know what I'm doing, so I could use a lot of help :) especially on things like materials and cost.

2. ryanpb

ryanpb Elite Member

Re: Designing an Enclosure for 2 Blue Tongue Skink

If I'm not mistaken I believe The bare minimum for one BTS is a 40 Gallon breeder tank.

I would say from that, For two it should be no less than 4' x 2'
    larger would be nice for them, especially floorspace, but with a bit of creativity you could make a really great wooden enclosure for less than $200 all construction included.

About what type of budget are you on? With that we could give you a better idea of what plans would be best.

3. kriminaal

kriminaal HH Block Leader Staff Member Premium Member

When on a tight budget it's a good idea to look around at thrift stores, garage sales or renovation stores. You could find an old pc of furniture to turn into an enclosure.
    Modified carcasses of projection tvs work great.

4. Bennett

Bennett Member