This Disappears When Logged In

Cricket Bite on Albino Leopard Gecko

Discussion in 'Geckos - Other' started by Penelope, Mar 17, 2010.

1. Penelope

Penelope Well-Known Member

My gecko has a bite from a cricket(s) on her head (large) and on her one foot. What is the best way to care for this?

2. Penelope

Oh, she is a baby, about 4" long and we feed her the pin-head crickets. But two were larger (normal size) and I believe they are the ones that ganged up on her. Needless to say, I had to squish them. I know that could be considered mean, but they hurt my baby.

3. jaykpix

jaykpix New Member

You did the right thing by squishing them. I'm sorry, but I have no experience with geckos, so I don't know how to advise you on that aspect. Probably keep it rinsed. I know you can use antibiotic creams on snakes (as long as they don't have the pain-killer), so that might be an option. CHECK WITH A MORE EXPERIENCED PERSON before you do that, though. I have -no- clue on geckos.

4. missabrat

missabrat Elite Member

keep the areas clean,you can use neosporin, NOT the pain relieving type
    Do you use substrate? If so it would be best to go with papertowels, this will keep anything from sticking to the wounds. Please remember to keep this from happening , only leave the crickets in the enclosure until your little one is done eating. Good luck :)

5. Penelope

Thank you both. I did notice some substrate on it and tried to remove it with a Q-tip and water...and got most of it. I will try the paper towels and neosporin.

AGAIN, thank you!

6. schlegelbagel

schlegelbagel Frog Lover Premium Member

most substrate is harmful to the gecko anyway. your best bet is to get either reptile carpet or to have just paper towels. How long have you had your gecko?

7. Merlin

Merlin Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

What do you mean buy "Large"? Are you talking about swollen or a gaping wound?

8. Penelope