This Disappears When Logged In

Bearded Dragon Newbie Questions.

Discussion in 'Bearded Dragons' started by Blitz, Apr 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Blitz

Blitz Elite Member

I'm getting a bearded dragon soon, and other than a turtle about a year ago, I have no reptile experience. I've been reading up on them though, so don't think I'm going into this in ignorance. I am going to be keeping the beardie in an aquarium(not filled with water, of course!), and I have read that there should be a heated side and a cooled side. Will the side my heater is on naturally be a little hotter than the other, or do I need something else? I was thinking about putting reptile carpet on the heated half, and tile on the cool half, because tile is usually pretty cool to the touch, but I'm not sure if that'll do it...

Also, can I find a bearded dragon at any old pet store, like, for instance, Petsmart?

2. shwknight

shwknight Elite Member

3. Blitz

Blitz Elite Member

Yes, I saw the care guide, and will the fluorescent light I once used for my fish suffice as a UVB? Thanks for recommending a light, but could you maybe recommend a heating source? I have an aquarium heater, but I thought about it, and I don't think that will work, being that it's so far from the ground of the tankl, and I'm scared to put it in the bottom, because he may burn himself....

4. Merlin

Merlin Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

The answer to both questions is no. You need a specific UVB reptile light. An aquarium light won't do it.
    And the aquarium heater, used out of water will break. You can heat with a Ceramic heat emitter or an ordinary household light bulb.

5. Blitz

Blitz Elite Member

Much obliged

6. Blitz

Blitz Elite Member

New question: whats the recommended wattage of the UVB bulb? Thanks again, for the link, shwknight

7. shwknight

shwknight Elite Member

The wattage would all depend on the size of your enclosure.