This Disappears When Logged In

Bearded Dragon Cage Doors - Cage Size: Sub Adult

Discussion in 'General Construction' started by Mark, Jan 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mark

Mark Elite Member

What is YOUR preference on door openings for a cage -- swing open or siding glass type?

I have also seen that many suggest keeping young dragons in a smaller cage/tank before the jump to a full 5x2x3 cage. Is there any relevance to this idea?

2. Colleen

Colleen Elite Member

I'm no expert but the cage the students made for my beardies last year have framed glass doors that swing out, so I can get inside to clean. My cage is 2' deep x 4' long x 2' high. I used peel and stick tile on the floor to make clean up easy. The enclosure is all wood with the exception of the doors and a screen area on the top for the heating and basking equipment. Hope this helps.

3. venus

venus Founding Member

Although sliding doors would look nice, the swing door makes the whole tank accessible and easier to clean as Colleen said :)

4. BRIZZY

BRIZZY Banned User

I will have to agree with marsha on this one!!

5. kriminaal

kriminaal HH Block Leader Staff Member Premium Member

Swing open also gives more opportunity for photos. Sliding doors have always been a bit of a pain for me. There was always substrate getting stuck in the track. Even one I built 4 inches above the substrate. It still got tracked in there.

6. Rich

Rich Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

Hello,

I too say swing doors.

7. MoogleBass

MoogleBass Kittes are so nice! Premium Member

Sliding doors.

They would make it easier to clean to me. Make the top track about 3 or 4 inches deep so you can push the glass up and pop it out. The thing i found with swing doors is strain. But then again mine swing down, would like to make sliders. but oh well.

8. rbl

rbl MacGyver in real life