This Disappears When Logged In

Anorexia

Discussion in 'Bearded Dragons' started by geckoguy14, Nov 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. geckoguy14

geckoguy14 Elite Member

hey guys,

Ive posted about this a couple of times in the past, but i have a 2 yr old male beardy thats been a fussy eater for a long time. he slept all summer long in his half log hideout, only coming out for a while and eaten even more seldomly. For some strange reason he's out more now that its winter but he still doesnt eat like he should. I feed him a staple of superworms (zoophobas) and supplement the diet with fresh greens and veggies and crickets. He gets the usual calcium/vitamin supplements and has full access to UVB. Plus, his basking spot stays around 110-115 degrees F. I change the bulbs every 6 months religiously. He seems a bit on the thin side if you ask me but not at a state to where it's extremely noticible.

Since i work as a veterinary assistant ive been able to talk my boss into drawing blood from him and sending it off to the lab for a reptilian chemistry profile. He's not an exotic's vet and isnt interested in finding out much about them, but he successfully bled my dragon.

Anyways, here's the chemistry results:

glucose-159 mg/dL
    total protien-7.2 g/dL
    AST (SGOT)-24 U/L
    Calcium (verfied by repeat analysis)-12.7 mg/dL
    phosphorus-5.6 mg/dL
    CPK-2849 U/L
    Uric Acid-3.5 mg/dL

this probably doesnt mean much to most people in here but just in case somebody has veterinary experience with reptiles, i'd like to know what yall think. I havent had time to consult the nearest exotic's hospital but i will get on that as soon as i have time.

Thanks for your help,

-Adam

2. Merlin

Merlin Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

Have you had a fecal done?

3. fire2225ems

fire2225ems Subscribed User Premium Member