This Disappears When Logged In

Angry Skittles -?

Discussion in 'Chameleons' started by Kamala, Aug 22, 2012.

1. Kamala

Kamala Active Member

I'm going to admit, I am a bit new to the chameleon thing. My experience is with snakes, however I acquired an adult veiled chameleon from a friend about a month ago and I love that daggum lizard. Her name is Skittles.

This was her the night I brought her home

A770A021-A9E1-4182-88CD-8B8968B3503D-3441-000003A59B718A29.jpg

She was lookin pretty good right?!

My friend was taking excellent care of her. I have everything set up just like she did. I am gut loading the crickets. I am using the calcium and vitamin powder as directed...

I have the enclosures basking spot up high sitting at 93 degrees and the bottom of the cage stays around 82 degrees and the humidity reads usually anywhere between 48% and 53%

8F0B460E-A9CD-414F-ADE5-1276D94911B1-3441-000003A5B5CD1B1C.jpg

I should prolly take another picture. I didn't have the lights set up at that point.

Anyway, she stays brown during the day. I walk in there and she is brown from the get go. She turns her pretty green at night while sleeping. I know that the brown is indicative of trying to absorb heat or uv rays, but she is very hissy and jerky. She eats like a monster! She ate 25 full grown crickets one day soon after she came home! And I know for a fact my friend was feeding her well. I understood that chameleons cannot be overfed, however, I stopped at 25... figured they could use some time to digest. I feed her every other day and she eats until I stop putting crickets in the cage, usually 15-20 is where I've been staying.

Now, she turned green at my friends house during the day! My friend got her to eat mango and other whatnot fruit too. She won't eat any salad or fruit stuff for me. That is the only difference I can figure.